Skip to content

Scout of the Year

Scout of the year scholarships

Annually, the Veterans of Foreign Wars recognizes four individuals: Eagle Scouts, Girl Scout Gold Award recipients, Venture Silver Award recipients and Sea Scout Quartermasters who have risen above their peers in exemplifying the exceptional qualities of that rank with the following:

$5,000 1st place scholarship

$3,000 2nd place scholarship

$1,000 3rd place scholarship

To be eligible for the award, the candidate must:

• Be a registered, active member of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew or Sea Scout Ship.

• Be the recipient of the Eagle Scout Award, Gold Award, Venture Silver Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award.

• Have demonstrated exemplary citizenship in school, Scouting and community.

• Have reached his or her 15th birthday and be enrolled in high school at the time of selection.

Applicants still in high school who reach their 18th birthday during the nomination year remain eligible if otherwise qualified. A Scout may enter through only one VFW Post. A local Post can be identified by zip code at

Deadline for entries:

March 1 — Entry to the Post.

April 1 — Submission to Department Scouting Team member from Post.

May 1 — Submission to national organization from Department Scouting Team member. Candidate entry forms are available from your Department Scouting Team member or by calling 816- 756-3390, ext.220. or at 

Entry Form Packet